• Welcome to Powerbasic Museum 2020-B.

News:

Forum in repository mode. No new members allowed.

Main Menu

Oxygen Basic

Started by Frederick J. Harris, September 29, 2010, 10:12:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Frederick J. Harris

Hi Charles!

What is Oxygen Basic?  I never heard of that, and just tried a search on it but didn't come up with much.  I saw you made a reference to it the other day, and it made me wonder what it is.

Charles Pegge

Hi Frederick,

This is a project I have been working on for the last three years or so. It was first conceived as a minimalist machine code scripting language O which then rapidly transformed into O2. An x86 Assembler was soon built on top of this followed by a supporting macro language. Then Eros suggested more people would understand it better if it used Basic syntax. So that has taken up the larger portion of the project.

Among its characteristics is the ability to read enough C to understand most  C header expressions as well as the standard Qbasic type of declaration. and this I hope will aid easy integration the many Libraries which only provide C headers to support their deployment.

Oxygen takes the form of a smallish DLL (370k) which with a minuscule front end can be used to compile Basic source code to binary strings for direct execution in memory or to create a more conventional PE image which then saves to an EXE or DLL file.

I had success with a few 64bit "Hello World"s a few months back but other aspects have kept me busy in the mean time.

In Oxygen, you can mix Assembler and Basic with few restrictions and even write code that looks like C. The C/Basic fusion poses some interesting dilemmas like how to deal with case sensitivity and what to do at the end of a line. And above all, how should pointers be treated.