Powerbasic Museum 2020-B

IT-Consultant: Patrice Terrier => C++ programming (SDK style) => Topic started by: Patrice Terrier on November 14, 2013, 06:16:44 PM

Title: About VS 2013
Post by: Patrice Terrier on November 14, 2013, 06:16:44 PM
I just order my copy of Visual Studio Professional 2013.

I would like to know if there is something special i should care about when moving from VS2010 ?

And what to think of Blend, could it be used to design legacy applications that are not targeted to Window Store?
Title: Re: About VS 2013
Post by: Theo Gottwald on November 14, 2013, 07:00:32 PM
There is a Test in the actual german ct' Magazin on it.
They say that in general there is no large difference.
Title: Re: About VS 2013
Post by: James C. Fuller on November 14, 2013, 07:19:41 PM
The one item I know about but which I'm sure does not concern you is no XP support. It was dropped in Visual Studio 2012.
While I guess there are ways to do it ???

James
Title: Re: About VS 2013
Post by: Jim Dunn on November 14, 2013, 09:24:29 PM
(I know there are still people supporting DOS apps, but I dropped XP support a long time ago...)
Title: Re: About VS 2013
Post by: Edwin Knoppert on November 15, 2013, 02:23:50 PM
this version requires you to install MSIE10
MSIE10 requires a lot of windows updates.

Obvious for many but less obvious for me :)
Took me several hours to do this all :)
Title: Re: About VS 2013
Post by: Patrice Terrier on November 15, 2013, 03:17:05 PM
I did try to install the English package on my Windows 7 computer (the same one i am using with VS2010), but it failed miserabily   :(

Thus i am downloading now the French version, on my ASUS Windows 8.1 with touch screen, where i never installed any Visual Studio, let's see if i can get it to work without errors...

>:( >:( >:(

Added:
By the way, there is no upgrade policy between VS2010 and VS2013, had to buy the full licence again € 639 (TTC).
I never understood why we have to pay 30% more in Europe than in the US, that is a legal robbery of all US company over European consumers (same problem with ADOBE)  ???
1 € = $ 1.34
Visual Studio 2013 Professional US $ 499, becomes € 555 (without VAT) this means $ 743
Delta 743 - 499 = $244
this means European must have to pay 48% more, why  ::)
I wonder what are the prices in China or India  ???
Title: VS 2013 produce larger code
Post by: Patrice Terrier on November 15, 2013, 07:14:05 PM
Compiling VS2010 code, using the same settings with VS2013, then the resulting file size increase by 25%.

For example a 107 Kb 64-bit EXE, becomes a {bloated} 133 Kb EXE :)

Title: Re: VS 2013 produce larger code
Post by: James C. Fuller on November 15, 2013, 08:07:27 PM
Quote from: Patrice Terrier on November 15, 2013, 07:14:05 PM
Compiling VS2010 code, using the same settings with VS2013, then the resulting file size increase by 25%.

For example a 107 Kb 64-bit EXE, becomes a {bloated} 133 Kb EXE :)

You're linking with /MT so I assume some of the new Win 8 library code needs to be linked in. ??

James
Title: Re: About VS 2013
Post by: Edwin Knoppert on November 15, 2013, 10:09:09 PM
Quote from: Patrice Terrier on November 15, 2013, 07:14:05 PM
Compiling VS2010 code, using the same settings with VS2013, then the resulting file size increase by 25%.

For example a 107 Kb 64-bit EXE, becomes a {bloated} 133 Kb EXE :)



That's why you pay more.. :)
Title: Re: About VS 2013
Post by: Mike Stefanik on November 16, 2013, 12:33:22 AM
Quote from: James C. Fuller on November 14, 2013, 07:19:41 PM
The one item I know about but which I'm sure does not concern you is no XP support. It was dropped in Visual Studio 2012.
While I guess there are ways to do it ???

You just need to specify an alternate toolset for the project (v110_xp for VS2012 or v120_xp for VS2013) and that will allow you continue to target Windows XP SP3. What they don't support is installing current versions of Visual Studio on XP, but I doubt that's an issue for anyone these days. While XP may not be dead yet, it's starting to twitch a bit. ;)

Edit: Patrice, you might want to look into just buying an MSDN subscription rather than paying for each version of Visual Studio as its released. It also gives you access to various Windows platforms to test on, as well as older archived compilers and other tools.
Title: Re: About VS 2013
Post by: James C. Fuller on November 16, 2013, 11:04:09 AM
Mike,
  Are the alternate toolsets included with Visual Studio 2013?
The article (on Visual Studio 2012) I read had a long drawn out procedure involving downloading a DDK ??

James
Title: Re: About VS 2013
Post by: Mike Stefanik on November 16, 2013, 05:11:17 PM
Quote from: James C. Fuller on November 16, 2013, 11:04:09 AM
Are the alternate toolsets included with Visual Studio 2013?
The article (on Visual Studio 2012) I read had a long drawn out procedure involving downloading a DDK ??

They are, at least with the Professional/Premium editions, I'm not sure about Express. Nothing extra downloaded after the install, aside from updates.
Title: Re: About VS 2013
Post by: Mike Stefanik on November 17, 2013, 04:53:52 AM
Quote from: Patrice Terrier on November 14, 2013, 06:16:44 PM
I would like to know if there is something special i should care about when moving from VS2010 ?

Also, I forgot to mention that there's no need for you to uninstall Visual Studio 2010. If you leave it installed, VS2012/2013 will recognize it and allow you to use its toolset in your projects, if you want. The project formats are forwards compatible from VS2010 forward, so there's no more project conversion and you can build older projects within the newer versions of the IDE.

TL;DR: Leave VS2010 installed on your system.
Title: Re: About VS 2013
Post by: Patrice Terrier on November 17, 2013, 10:48:23 AM
Mike

I haven't installed VS2010, and i will keep using it to produce smaller DLL(s).

I plan to use 2013 mainly with the new gesture API and touch screen displays.

Using it so far to build a new HUD demo, like what you can see in Avatar, Oblivion or Iron man movies.
Title: Re: About VS 2013
Post by: James C. Fuller on November 17, 2013, 11:24:39 AM
Quote
You just need to specify an alternate toolset for the project (v110_xp for VS2012 or v120_xp for VS2013) and that will allow you continue to target Windows XP SP3

Mike,
  If you use the _xp toolset setting do you still have the full C++11 constructs you have with Visual Studio 2013?

James
Title: Re: About VS 2013
Post by: Mike Stefanik on November 17, 2013, 11:49:29 AM
Quote from: James C. Fuller on November 17, 2013, 11:24:39 AM
If you use the _xp toolset setting do you still have the full C++11 constructs you have with Visual Studio 2013?

AFAIK, all that vs120_xp does is tell the compiler to use an older Windows SDK, but you would continue to use the VC12 compiler. However, because you're effectively using a modified version the Windows 7.0A SDK, you won't have access to Windows 8 APIs (although you could hack around that with dynamic linking). Remote debugging won't work correctly, and IIRC there's also some issues with trying to debug applications that use DX9.
Title: Re: About VS 2013
Post by: James C. Fuller on November 18, 2013, 12:56:10 PM
Mike,
  I did find a way to use Visual Studio 2013 Express version to target XP. I had the Win7 SDK installed and just needed to tweak the paths from this blog.

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/vcblog/archive/2012/10/08/10357555.aspx

James
Title: VS 2013 and VS 2010 oddities
Post by: Patrice Terrier on November 24, 2013, 08:30:55 PM
Argh!

Compiling the same source code with the same parameters on VS 2013 than VS 2010, produce not only larger code, but also code that doesn't behave the same!

>:(

Title: Re: About VS 2013
Post by: Brice Manuel on November 25, 2013, 12:31:49 AM
Welcome to MSVC++  ;D
Title: Re: VS 2013 and VS 2010 oddities
Post by: Mike Stefanik on November 25, 2013, 01:05:56 AM
Quote from: Patrice Terrier on November 24, 2013, 08:30:55 PM
Compiling the same source code with the same parameters on VS 2013 than VS 2010, produce not only larger code, but also code that doesn't behave the same!

Are you using the vs120_xp toolset and setting the WINVER macro to 0x0501 so that your project can continue to target XP? Or are you using the Windows 8 SDK?